What is Quarantine Going to Be Like for My Parrot?

Going into the process of how to import my pet birds into the U.S., I wondered first and foremost what quarantine would be like for them. Would it be awful, with the birds being given the bare minimum required to keep them alive?

As it turns out, no. Quarantine was like a holiday for parrots: The glass isolets allowed the birds to see out, therefore feeling less abandoned, and had HEPA filters that worked to ensure that no disease could possibly be spread. The employees brought the birds fresh fruits and vegetables, treats, toys, and branches, and gave them attention where possible. I also posted them my own toys, and had the option to send my own food.

The staff were easily reachable, and always willing to answer my questions. I had no issues communicating with them, and I always knew how my birds were doing. This was honestly the least stressful part of the entire import process.

So in answer to the question of what it’ll be like for your bird, it’s difficult to answer. My pair are extremely people-reliant, but they came out just fine. They were the favourites of the staff there! My Senegal and parrotlet were glad to get out – isolation like that isn’t fun – but it was okay for them.

Quarantine won’t be the stark, clinical process you may have envisioned, at least.

Was it worth it? Absolutely. Importing my parrots to join me was the best decision I ever made, if a very expensive one! The birds have settled in wonderfully afterwards, with no residuals issues (and I know they’re completely healthy). Here are a few photos:

10 thoughts on “What is Quarantine Going to Be Like for My Parrot?

    • I was so relieved! The staff were amazing, and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. Mavi was flirting up a storm with the lady who cared for him, haha. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. I was convinced by a shop owner to have our African Grey’s closed band removed. Regret it all the time. It never caused a problem and now I’m afraid we can never leave the U.S. with him.

    • Hmm, we had a similar issue – Mavi the Senegal didn’t have a leg band at all, as he was adopted. We got him microchipped, though, which is a good idea anyway – and it was enough. Our vet was wonderful; he gave him gas no extra charge, so Mavi never knew what happened. I believe you can get them banded as adults, but it’ll be an open band, not a closed one, and some birds will pick at it if they’re not familiar with it. Always an option to try, though.

      Glad my post helped! I was so scared going into it… I hope this helps other owners who are importing or just considering it. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Our grey had his band for 20 years, and some times he’d fiddle with it, but we never had a problem. Hmm, never thought about chipping him. He just turned 21 and we adore him, of course!

  2. Thanks for letting us know about quarantine. I thought the worst too. Really good to know that your birds had wonderful caregivers. Our Amazon came from a zoo and I believe a family before that because of the little kid voice which comes out now and then. She was not banded. We were told she was late 20’s when I got her 3 years ago, so we are going with 30 this year. Birthday Bash! I won’t have her banded, but the chip is a really good idea.

    • If you have a chip and she manages to escape somehow, it can help you identify her. I like that Mavi is chipped just in case. It looked uncomfortable, but he got some gas and was fine.

      Happy 30th hatchday to Burt! I think she votes ‘pass’ on a microchip birthday present, though, haha!

  3. What’s the actual paperwork like to get the birds back into the US? They seem to change it every year or two and its been a while since I’ve heard what the latest hurdles are. I’ve passed up overseas jobs for fear of not being able to get the “kids” back into the country!

    • To get them back? I think that’d be alright – once they’ve been government quarantined upon arrival in a new country, you typically get a release paper that allows you to bring them back to their country of origin with only a home quarantine.

      To actually import/export, though, is INSANE. They don’t tell you half of what you need. I have a post on here that attempts to document the process. https://studentswithbirds.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/how-to-import-pet-birds-into-the-u-s/

      I need to go back and rework it so it reads a little easier. The damn requirements change all the time. I know your fear, though! I was terrified I’d have to leave them, but thankfully I worked it all out. The government was actually very forgiving.

What do you think?

