I’m In the Newspaper – Future Avian Rescue.

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you know of my hopes of founding a parrot sanctuary here in the states. Well… I got interviewed about it. šŸ˜€ They got some facts quite wrong (e.g. Bobo and Mishka got swapped there), but the paper got the gist of it, and that’s what matters.

Because it was mentioned in the interview, I thought I’d put up Bobo singing along to Star Wars. It’s his self-appointed theme tune. Kind of fitting, really…

Here is Mishka the cockatiel, our first parrot. ‘Tiels and ‘toos are close cousins, both from Australia. Mishka is 12″ tip to tail, and Bobo is about double that. It’s easy to confuse them at first.

Here is Ptak, adorable parrotlet:

IMG_4023

And Pip the Gloster canary, who didn’t get a mention:

IMG_2363

Oh! You can visit O.’s blog here. I guess Internet secrecy doesn’t matter now that I’ve put our names and faces up? I’ll cope.

Similarly, you can visit the Phoenix Landing Rescue and the Island Parrot Sanctuary‘s websites by clicking on their respective links, if you’d like to learn more.

And, silly me, I forgot the link to the article: http://m.fredericknewspost.com/arts_and_entertainment/arts_and_entertainment_topics/music/article_972ace72-e809-534c-945c-87b9b7a6300b.html?mode=jqm

10 thoughts on “I’m In the Newspaper – Future Avian Rescue.

  1. Hope your plans are going well for a sanctuary, you would be great at that.
    Love the video, Bobo is so human.

    • I miss Bobo a lot! He is, isn’t he? Plans are going well – I’ve got an idea for a location, working in collaboration with local wildlife conservation centre. Not sure about it yet, though!

  2. Love the video of Bobo Sarah – he is such a ham šŸ™‚

    I had a brief look at the link to the phoenix sanctuary – will spend a bit more time looking at it later.

    All the best for your future sanctuary šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Rhonda! Sorry it took me so long to reply, I took a wee break from blogging to get settled in. The Phoenix Landing rescue is great. I met some of their volunteers – all very dedicated and knowledgable. I can’t wait to work more with them.

      And Bobo is a superstar, just look at him. He’s got a record contract in the making, hahaha!

  3. This is really neat! Congratulations! The article was a great read too and your achievements are very impressive to say the least. I know you will have your sanctuary one day! šŸ™‚ And then I will be able to donate to it and promote it. Very exciting!! Also Bobo has a wonderful singing voice šŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! I really hope I can pull a sanctuary off. I want to have a finch aviary on site as well, since I know my canary would ADORE spending all her time in the sun.

      And Bobo is a master singer, just don’t tell him. His ego would inflate too much. šŸ˜‰

      • Any time! I believe in you!! šŸ™‚ I think an aviary would be incredible and Pip would adore the company. I built a pretty inexpensive one for the juvies this year – 5ftx18inx3ft – basically connected 2 30x18x36 cages and secured them with zip ties.

        I promise not to tell Bobo šŸ™‚ I know how it is having a cocky Canary male around! We have one as well, and he is a diva as well. Right now he is living in the juvenile aviary which has to be his favorite place so far!

What do you think?

