Fundraising – and a thank you.

I have to give a heart-felt thank you to the people who have donated, re-blogged, or shared my post since last night. You brought the biggest smile to my face. I actually don’t have words for how touched I am. I’ll put my email towards the bottom of this post, and if you’ve donated, or choose to donate, please contact me. I’d like to send a much more personalised thank you – and a wee gift, see below!

1016613_10201452660423664_1785345778_n

This was my expression when I woke up to my blog this morning.

I know my cause isn’t the most dire, and that this is a bad economy, so everyone’s generosity is extra appreciated. Ideally, I’d like to raise the full thousand necessary to quarantine my pets, but I don’t think that’s realistic, so maybe between $200-400? We’ve already raised $85! I do feel like that’s still asking a lot, and am floored by $85.

We’ll see.

If you haven’t read my previous post, I just found out the full cost of U.S. quarantine alone (this isn’t including other fees and charges for shipping parrots), and it’s $1,ooo. I made a commitment to my birds when I adopted them, and am desperate not to just give up. Unfortunately, I would be staying in the UK but it’s nearly impossible to obtain a visa. So home I go.

I did talk more to my family last night about this fundraiser, and came up with a pretty good idea (I think!). My sister and mum have offered products from their personal businesses. My mum is a photographer who uses her art to make beautiful handmade greeting cards. My sister knits cosy scarves. And I want to temporarily offer my blog as a place of advertisement.

If you donate $5-24, I will write about anything of your choice. I can do a post here featuring you, your blog, website, product, business, concept, favourite cause or charity, etc. Also a virtual hug.

Donate $25-45 for a pack of 10 greeting cards (see below), and a feature on this blog concerning a topic of your choice.

Donate $46-65 for a pack of 10 handmade greeting cards and one sashay scarf, plus a feature on my blog. 

SashayScarves

Examples of the sashay scarves that my sister knits.

Donate $66-89 for a warm, soft knit scarf (or alternatively one sashay), 5 pack of cards, a feature on my blog, and 5 days’ further advertising here.

Ptak_scarves2

Bird not included.

Ptak_Scarves

Donate $90+ for a knit or sashay scarf, 10 pack of cards, and feature post plus 14 days’ advertising. And a hug.

Do you know anyone with something to advertise – or, for that matter, who would like a nice, warm scarf? Have them contact me via sixthdegree@comcast.net, or drop a comment. Those of you who have also helped out, please send me an email with your name, address, and blog site, so I know who you are!

And even if you don’t have the funds to donate, you can help by re-blogging, clicking the share buttons below, and passing this around your social networks. Ideas for extra fundraising are also very welcome!

I also apologise for my shameless scrounging here – it’s not something I’d ordinarily do. But my animals mean a lot to me.

Thank you all. ❤

Donate Button with Credit Cards

2 thoughts on “Fundraising – and a thank you.

  1. Pingback: (Relatively) shameless fundraising. | Students and Birds

  2. Pingback: Days 9-11 – bad habits, schedules, and smiles. | Students and Birds

What do you think?

