Anticipation of an Aviator Harness.

Trying out an aviator harness for my parrot…

We decided to get flight harness for Mavi to try out… So we’ve gone ahead and ordered an Aviator Parrot Harness, and now just have to wait for it to arrive. We also got some hemp seed for him as a treat/bribe… I’m as of yet undecided whether I’ll actually have the confidence to take him outside in it, seeing as how, if he wanted, he could probably snip through it in a second’s time. But we’ll see.

Anyone have any experience with flight harnesses?

9 thoughts on “Anticipation of an Aviator Harness.

  1. Before you even think about taking Mavi outside with this harness, you need to make sure that it is fully trained. Should come to you on command, each and every time. Once free in the world, well you can take it from there. Good luck! You are a braver soul than I.

    • Good point – we have a training plan in place, starting with recall training. I still can’t decide if I’m brave enough to go outside… I was more of the mind that the harness would give us very straightforward to work towards, haha! Still, I think he’d like it outside, and the stimulation would be good for him. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I have bought a harness for Mitch, it has been a month now and we are still trying to get him used to it in the house!! By the time we get him used to it the weather should be warmer lol.

  3. I have a male U2 named Julius. I sit down on the floor with him and pet him gently with the harness and some of his favorite treats (blueberries). I like the Aviator Harness so far. He’s been outside about 3 times. The harness comes with an instructional video which is a good tool (although it drags a bit). Julius won’t be able to chew through the harness unless I leave him unattended for a long period of time. Also, I forgot to mention that taking him out of his normal environment so he was not distracted by his cage/normal play area etc. helped when it was time to harness up. Once we get outside, he’s too distracted by nature to try to chew.

    Good luck!!

  4. Of course I would never leave him unattended while in the harness. Just wanted to clarify!

    • I know what you mean, haha, it’s okay. If you feel confident about the material with Julius, Mavi’s much-smaller beak will be fine, I’m sure! I think he’ll be the same once outside – with so much going on, why would he bother to chew? Well… hopefully! Thanks for commenting… I can’t wait for the harness to arrive now. 😀

  5. When I first got Burt, the yellow-naped Amazon parrot, I got a lanyard and he refused to allow me to attach it to his leg. I bought a blue padded arm guard and he refused to perch on my arm with it on. I got a harness and he was quicker at getting it off over his head than I was attaching it. At late 20’s, He’s just not going to go for it. He was in a zoo for 9 years and who knows where before that. After 2 years, I go outside with him shouldered but only 15 feet from the back door to the garage door. I’m risking that. When I put him out in his outdoor aviary, I use a travel cage. I would hate to lose him. I wish I could train him for a harness but he has a strong mind of his own and his bite hurts. Keep us posted on your progress with Mavi!

    • Sounds like Burt has an iron will! I don’t blame you for not wanting to get bitten, haha. Mavi’s only 4.5 years old and always very eager to learn, so I hope this’ll go relatively smoothly. I’ll be sure to post an update when the harness arrives. 🙂

What do you think?

