Good Perches for a Canary.

Today was the Big Clean.

I started with Pip, as her cage needed it the worst. Sanitised the perches, food and water bowls, her swing, and Charlie’s old mirror… Then swapped her cage papers and gave the bottom of her cage a quick scrub.

When it came to replacing her perches (I have double what I need now that Charlie’s gone), Pip got two plastic ones, as those are familiar, and I replaced the third with one of my parrotlet’s. The entire time I was working in her cage, Pip decided to have an enormous spazz-out. She landed on me once and found it so traumatising that she ended up on the floor. Once I’d replaced everything, I gently ushered her towards her new perch – TERRIFYING, as it was wood.

Wood is the best kind of perch for any bird. It’s not good to use plastic or sand-paper perches, as these will actually hurt your pet’s feet in the long run. Canaries like toys, too, and a wood perch provides ample opportunity to pick at the bark. Endless entertainment for a living creature with not a lot to do during the day.

To make my canary’s unfamiliar perch more appealing, I hung the heart-shaped mirror across from it and stepped away.

Image

At first, she wanted nothing to do with the new additions to her cage.

Image

Slowly, however, her curiosity began to win – and she edged in for a closer look. (The swing is good, safe, not poison. Surely the new perch must be poison.)

Image

And then suddenly there she was, testing out the new perch. She stayed for quite awhile, flexing her toes against the bark before she exited her cage to play on its top (where she is currently). I don’t think it’s won a seal of approval or anything, but it seems to have been designated ‘safe enough… for now.’ Tomorrow will reveal if she has truly accepted the new addition. I was an evil owner, you see, and replaced her favourite sleeping perch with the wooden one.

Now that Pip has been taken care of, I’m going to do a clean of everyone else’s cages, followed by a basic swap-around of the contents. Ptak already has one new perch; I think I’ll rearrange his Cosy Hut and mix up his toys. If your bird is acting hormonal, a quick cage-change can help alleviate symptoms.

What do you think?

