Parrotlets, Psychotic Cockatiels, and Pie.

I like taking photos. Most of the time, I’m too lazy to go and get my actual camera, let alone set up a proper shot, but nevertheless, it’s still something I enjoy. It also means I have plenty to supplement my blog posts with if I haven’t got much to say. My week has been pretty slow… It’s the last few days before term starts, and it’s time to buckle down to work. This means I’m busy procrastinating. As to the birds: Mishka has been a psycho bird; Ptak has been extra hyper; and the canaries are cute as ever.

Here is my day today (in pictures).

Mishka takes a nap with me for the second time ever. I never see her sleep in her cage, but if she’s out and in the bedroom, she’s more than happy to rest. It starts off with a little beak grinding (am I the only one who gets freaked out by that zippy noise?) and then one foot pulls up into her down and her eyes drift shut.

Image

I was trying not to wake her, so this didn’t turn out as the best picture ever.

She spent some time on the shower’s curtain rod afterwards, staring at my hand as though I were suddenly offering not a hand, but a giant insect or something else horrifying and repulsive (but also slightly intriguing).

Image

‘Yes. Fascinating.’

Anyway, after I finally retrieved her, Ptak came out for some fun. He helped me tidy the study a bit… And at that point discovered himself in the mirror. Smug little thing.

Image

Celestial parrotlets are full of personality… and themselves.

It wasn’t long before I heard the furious wing-flapping and excited cheeps of the canaries signalling that they wanted out. I am weak, and so immediately ran to open their doors. Pip soon became annoyed with me for taking too many photos, but Charlie enjoyed the lampshade and flying madly around. Both birds find it amusing to watch me scramble around trying to get a photo that’s at least partially in focus. 

Image

Image

Once the canaries tired out and went home, I spent some time watching bird videos on YouTube. This one, of an adorable sleeping love bird, was my absolute favourite. I finished, though, with the irresistible five peas in a pod parrotlets video. Beware the cuteness!

Hmm, what else? Completely random, but in searching through my photos for this post, I stumbled across this, and now I’m craving some:

Image

The best lemon meringue pie in the world from a local bakery in the states. (Ignore the background clutter.)

And I also spent way too much time this afternoon designing this: 

Image

I have no life.
Actually, I do, I’m just really good at procrastinating with Sims.

(As a note, I rarely play the Sims themselves… I just build houses and decorate them. I could buy an actual home design program, but… I’m cheap.)

Image

Plus you can’t do this.

2 thoughts on “Parrotlets, Psychotic Cockatiels, and Pie.

  1. What troublemakers! ❤ I'm jealous you can get your peepers to pose, I'm always left with a green blur that sometimes resembles a parrotlet if you squint your eyes. 😛

  2. Haha, I know! MOST of the photos turn out blurry (particularly with our parrotlet, who never stops), but I take so many that one or two are bound to be in focus. It doesn’t hurt that when the camera’s out I’m constantly plying them with treats. 😀

What do you think?

